Named after Grace Gleba of Warren County, New Jersey, the Governor signed Grace’s Law the later part of 2008. This legislation requires all New Jersey state regulated health insurers, the State Health Benefit Plan, and NJ Family Care to cover the cost of medically necessary hearing aids for children 15 years old and younger. According to this bill, S-467-1571, insurance carriers must cover up to $1000 per hearing aid every 24 months.
New Plans must provide this mandated coverage effective March 30, 2009. For existing plans, the law applies to all renewals issued after March 30, 2009. If an employer’s medical plan renews 7/1/2009, the law applies as of 7/1/2009. At renewal, insurers should provide all covered participants with amendments to their certificates of coverage explaining this new mandate.
It is important to note that Grace’s Law only applies to contracts issued in the State of New Jersey and does not apply to self funded (self insured) plans. Again, the State Health Benefits Plan is the only exception and must comply with the requirements of this new law.
Additional questions regarding Grace’s Law may be directed to the NJ Department of Banking and Insurance at 609-292-7272 or 1-800-446-7467.
Please contact your Conner Strong representative with any questions, toll-free at 1-877-861-3220.